Reviews

Hidden Gem is an understatement

Guest: PapaBear (United States)
Date of Stay: 12/23/12 Review Submitted: 01/02/13

My wife and I decided to take our kids to for a holiday week in the snow for the first time (2 & 4 years old) and we were very impressed with this property. Beginning with the owner Laura, she could not have been a more pleasant and honest person to rent a property from. She was very attentive to preparing the property, dates, and all around experience for our family to visit Tahoe. Although my wife and I have spent years visiting the Lake Tahoe area, this was by far at the top of our lists of places we have stayed. The property was very clean and well taken care of with 5 star amenities. Luckily, we have 4-6 feet of snow fall the day we arrived and we were able to take advantage of the large snow filled yard which is set at a dead end of the street. No through traffic and plenty of play space for the kids. As someone who loves to cook with a wife who loves to bake, the kitchen was perfectly organized and provided every utensil needed in order make our holiday week just like home. We had outside views of the falling snow from every angle as we cooked prime rib, turkey, cookies and more. The bedrooms were extremely spacious and comfortable and provided plenty of drawer and shelf space. Everything was very well kept and and clean. The 2 bathrooms were also very well kept and clean with deep tubs to sit and relax in after a hard day of playing in the snow. When we were finally able to relax, the family room provided an excellent snowy mountain environmental where we could read a book or watch some TV while sitting in front of the warm fire place. We truly felt like we were all alone in a remote cabin, yet only minutes from Tahoe City if we needed to go into town or down the road to the nearby grocery. I really could not have asked for a better place to stay in Tahoe and we plan on returning. Thank you Laura for everything. 🙂

Owner response: Thank you Jeremy and family that was a lovely and stunning review-We so appreciate hosting guests who get to experience Lake Tahoe in it’s purest form….when it snows in Tahoma it snows and this year is very promising so far….I hope you your wife and children will have many beautiful memories of Christmas in the snow in a charming cabin…thanks again look forward to hearing from you in the future. Peace & Pinecones-Laura 🙂

Recommended for:Families with teenagers, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway.


Fairy Tale Cabin!

Guest: Max (Bay Area, CA)
Date of Stay: 11/19/12 Review Submitted: 11/28/12

Short version: This place is absolutely amazing, and I 110% recommend it! Worth every penny, in fact it is a bargain! Long version: Where to begin…as we drove down the street we waited to see Patsy’s Place, and then it came into view….breathtaking! As the title suggests, this home looks like an absolute fairy tale from the outside – certainly one of nicest, best kept, gems in Tahoma. The location is unbelievable – at the end of a dead end street, located on a HUGE lot, and on the very edge of a state park filled with trees, silence, and beauty. And if you think seeing the outside is exciting, wait until you step through the front door! This place is like a five star hotel. A beautiful gas fireplace, flat screen with cable TV, and built in surround sound await you in the living room. The kitchen is practically brand new, and the rest of the home looks completely remodeled. The upstairs bedroom provides great privacy, and the master bath…..WOW! Hug bath tub, heated toilet seat, in-floor heating, HUGE shower…amazing is an insufficient word to describe this property. It was truly a pleasure to stay in this home. Laura even provides practically everything you need – shampoo, conditioner, soap, bath salts, teas, coffee…the list seriously keeps going. If this place seems too good to be true, that’s because it is. I had to keep pinching myself when I was there. Thank you Laura for sharing this gem of a home with folks. My family had an amazing stay, and I certainly hope to come again!

Recommended for:Sightseeing, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, adventure seekers, families with young children.


Lovely cabin and deck

Guest: Karen (Los Altos)
Date of Stay: 10/01/12 Review Submitted: 10/08/12

Patsy’s Place is beautiful inside and incredibly peaceful outside. All of the rooms are fresh, clean, and comfortable. The deck is quiet, shady, and inviting. The cabin is small, and so it was perfect for a couple. It would also work for two couples or a single family.

Recommended for:Sightseeing, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway, age 55+.


My stay at Patsy’s Place

Guest: Oetzel Party (Washington DC)
Date of Stay: 07/01/12 Review Submitted: 07/10/12

Laura, we had a wonderful time. My husband and I agreed that your cabin is the nicest we’ve ever stayed in-so nicely and thoughtfully designed! It was luxurious but still gave us the authentic experience of a quaint cabin in the woods. We certainly will plan to come again.

Recommended for:Families with teenagers, romantic getaway, adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway.


Good news

Guest: Dourbray Party (Davis)
Date of Stay: 06/21/12 Review Submitted: 07/05/12

Hi Laura, I don’t know if I can adequately convey to you just how much we enjoyed our stay at your cabin. Everything was perfect! Your attention to detail is just amazing. We didn’t want to leave because we felt so comfortable there. It was cozy and elegant at the same time. When we first arrived we just walked through the cabin noticing how nice and clean everything was. And it was so close to our meetings at the State Park! We just walked through the fence at 4th Street and were at the campsite in less than 15 minutes. This is the first year we’ve stayed in the cabin during our annual church retreat, because camping was good enough for us. Not any more. Now we are totally spoiled. If it’s available next year at the same time, we wold love to stay there again. We really felt it was a privilege to stay there. Thank you so much. Gerri

Recommended for:Sightseeing, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, age 55+.


Our time as a family is precious and rare

Guest: Lita and family from Panama
Date of Stay: 02/19/12 Review Submitted: 02/29/12

Our time as a family is precious and rare so a great deal rides on the venue of our stay. Your home fulfilled all of our expectations and more. How can we thank you enough for all the attention to detail, from the tasteful ornaments sprinkled “just right” all over the house and the well stocked bathroom, sublime laundry room, which makes laundry not such a chore.We stayed in every night as it was so wonderfully cozy. There is no looking further, it is simple as that. We will be back next year.


Can’t say enough

Guest: Niccole (south bay)
Date of Stay: 12/28/11 Review Submitted: 01/10/12

Can’t say enough wonderful things about Patsy’s Place-What a find! We hope to make many more trips in the future. From the perfectly stocked kitchen to the cozy living room and soaking tub & comfy beds, just far too many things to count,though no snow our stay was one of our most memorable & relaxing trip ever. Thank you so much for sharing such a special place.

Recommended for:Families with teenagers, romantic getaway, adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, age 55+.


Terrific place to decompress!

Guest: Jeff & Melissa (Nipomo CA)
Date of Stay: 09/19/11 Review Submitted: 10/26/11

Patsy’s place is the perfect place to disconnect and unwind from the pace of city life. The cabin and the outdoor living space is top notch. Very clean and furnished first class. We stayed five nights but wish it could of been ten. Our son liked the bad mitten game and the bike riding trail. Tim and Laura are wonderful people to deal with and we are looking very forward to our next stay. The west shore is the best shore!

Owner response:Good morning Abe what a nice surprise to receive a review from you. I made a note of Jeff’s request for new birdies so I went out and bought 18 new ones and will make sure to check on those through the summer-we hope to grass there next year so that should make it a bit more comfortable. It is our honor and priviledge to host Patsy’s Place to wonderful families and friends. We thank you for making our cabin your destination on the West Shore. Blessings to you and yours and the Jeff and his wife and child. Thankyou again. Peace & Pinecones- Laura

Recommended for:Sightseeing, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, families with young children.


Gary and Susie, Oakland

Guest: Susie (Oakland, CA)
Date of Stay: 08/29/11 Review Submitted: 09/12/11

We’ve been staying at Tahoe for 45 years, and this is by far the coziest and best equipped place so far. It’s peaceful and close to everything we love to do at Tahoe. You can feel the attention the owners put forth to furnish this lovely home. We hope to stay there many more times.

Owner response:Thank you Gary and Susie, we try so hard to make our place feel like home and it is our goal to make your experience as different as possible, we try to treat each guest like family, as you all are so important to our continuing our quest for improvement. Thank you for staying with us and we so welcome you back each and every season. Our sincerest appreciation we love having guests like you and your husband….Tim & Laura


Delightfully charming getaway

Guest: Mike & Lynn (Elk Grove, Ca.)
Date of Stay: 06/01/11 Review Submitted: 06/13/11

We spent four wonderful days at Patsy’s Place and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for that perfect “cabin in the woods” setting in the Lake Tahoe area. Nestled at the end of a lane, the large, level lot offers easy year-around access within a short drive (or bicycle ride) to town, yet provides a secluded feeling that few places in Tahoe can. The cabin, beautifully finished in knotty pine and offering all the conveniences of home, was upgraded and decorated by the owners in a way that would make Martha Stewart envious. We found it so captivating when we first arrived that we spent 20 minutes touring the place before we unpacked. All we could say, over and over, was “wow”. The myriad details, from hand-finished windowsills to a heated floor in the upstairs bathroom, provide so much “comfort” that you may forget to enjoy all the beauty that Lake Tahoe has to offer. The large, comfy chairs on the outside deck that runs the length of the cabin’s south side begs you to nestle in with a good book and enjoy nature with an unspoiled view; there are no neighbors to the south. This is not a cabin squished in among hundreds of others; this is truly your own private getaway. We have visited Lake Tahoe countless times over the past 30 years, and we have stayed at many places there, but this was our first stay at a place that truly feels like “home away from home”.

Owner response:Wow Mike & Lynne-We try our best and that is all we can do to make each and every stay special. Send me your address I have something to send you. Lynne has my email. Blessings- Tim & Laura

Recommended for:Sightseeing, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, girls getaway, age 55+.